Robotics

I recently saw a post on Young House Love about their new and improved toilet (more interesting than you would imagine!) and saw the HydroRight Dual-Flush Converter.

I like saving green both in and outside of my wallet so I looked it up and was jaw-droppingly surprised by the price. I have to say, I was hesitant to buy it – sounds too good to be true but the Petersiks have it. They must get a bazillion things to try and only post about the ones they like so I quickly decided that I trust their judgement and ordered mine.

And Jerry installed it. 🙂 B/c I’m spoiled.

There it is! In all its toilety goodness!

I have to admit, I do love that there is a button to push instead of a handle – it feels so futuristic!

Sometimes we have to push the single button twice (defeating the purpose of the thing) but then that’s only like flushing once still…so…whatever.

PP Get any new gadgets? As seen on TV items? Find any winners in the pack? Let me know!

5 Responses to Robotics

  1. Dad says:

    Aye, he’s a keeper that Jer!

  2. I always wonder about things like these. Spending $25 to save a little water doesn’t always make sense.

    Okay, I decided to do the math. Water prices vary quite a bit around the US. On the high end, in the US, water costs about .75 cents per cubic meter. Lets say, to keep the math simple, it costs a dollar per cubic meter. Your actual price could be half that. Anyway, a cubic meter of water is about 265 gallons. $1 for 265 gallons works out, for a standard 1.6gallon flush to 165 flushes per $1. Or .006 cents per flush. Okay, simplifying the math some more we can round up. Lets call it a penny per flush for a standard 1.6 gallon tank. Then, lets say the new valve saves half the water. You are saving a half a cent per flush.

    You will start to see a savings after about 5000 flushes if you paid $25 for the new valve.

    Did I do the math right?????? Are my assumptions wrong?

    Sorry to ramble on. I’m going to double check my math and maybe do a show segment on this.

    I’ll close by saying that if you are in an area where there are water shortages then this makes a lot of sense to do. If you are in an area with plentiful water then obviously it doesn’t. If you have a well that often runs dry then it makes perfect sense. If you are on well water and you never have low water situations then its a complete waste of money.

    Anyway, thanks for letting me ramble.

    • Miss Em says:

      Oh my! Thanks for rambling! I can’t believe you found my blog – color me pleasantly surprised!

      So, usually my handy guy will do the math for something like this but I bought it without even remembering to mention it to him. Oops! I guess I need to surrender my handy gal badge on this one. :\

      It is making me curious though…how long does it take for a household of 2 to get to 5K flushes???

      Thanks again for stopping by!

      -Emily

  3. Andy Parks says:

    Great blog, Emily – we also read the post on the Young House Blog too! We were really skeptical about spending money (albiet, not a lot of money) on a conversion device to save a little water, but we live in an area where conservation is just as common of a discussion as the weather. We have been really pleased with how everything is working since we installed, and enjoyed watching the how-to videos on the MJSI Facebook (www.facebook.com/mjsi) page. I think it gave my wife the confidence that after my “training” I was qualified enough to install the HydroRight. She was right. (PS, I noticed you live in Rochester – we lived in Binghamton for a short time several years ago. We miss NY!)

    • Miss Em says:

      I love YHL, I just can’t help myself if they love something I think it’s good enough for me and the mister, too!

      As you know, we’re not really in a place where water conservation is much of a discussion but I do feel pretty darn good about myself every time I hit the little button! 🙂

      Glad you found me! I hope to pick up blogging again VERY shortly. Things have been crazy planning a wedding and getting adjusted to a new position at work…I hope you come back when the dust has settled!

      -Emily

Leave a Reply

