Work It Out: Skate To This

Yesterday I laced snapped up my skates and hit the streets.

YES:

  • That is my dirty, unfinished breezeway.
  • Those are my ridiculously old roller blades (that I have had and fit in since the 5th grade – size 8 1/2).
  • I am only 5’3″ and have size 8 1/2 (or sometimes 9) feet.
  • I understand rollerblading isn’t exactly what the cool kids are doing these days (trust me, I rolled by them and they snickered).

Using the free App from RunKeeper, I tracked my trips around the block.

Monday I went au natural only listening to the soundtrack of nature (I know, super cheese, but I can’t think of another way to say it) and I ended up skating 1.62 miles in just over 12 minutes.

Not that great.

Determined, I got out there today with my ancient iPod (not as ancient as the blades but you’ll get the idea in a minute).

I made it to my quitting point from yesterday and then a funny thing happened. This:

Thank you, Sir Mix A Lot, for not only helping me get in another .67 miles but for helping me finish strong.

I did face a lot more wind today so my time wasn’t awesome but then again, wind in Rochester is like, duh, gonna happen. <– (Yes, folks, I am a professional writer!) So I should just get used to it.

Anywhoooo…my point is this: I am now trying rollerblading and I work out better to music.

PEACE!

PP How about you? Do you listen to the chitter chatter of the birdies or do you rock out? If so, what’s your absolute get-me-through-the-end-of-this-workout song? I need to know!

Leave a Reply

