Sparkly Little Secret

So things have been a little different around here this week.

A little on the personal side and that’s not what I intended this blog to be really.

The reason for the recent personal posts is that I’ve been building up to something MAJOR.

Yep, I’ve been keeping a secret…

…and it’s sparkly!

So without further ado, here it is:

YES he liked it!

YES he put a ring on it!

YES that is one sparkly diamond!

YES those are tears in my eyes!

YES my “hubs” will actually someday be my hubs!

YES I covered up that sparkly diamond as soon as this picture was taken b/c my hand was freezing!

WOOHOO!

Don’t you just love surprises?

I know I sure do.

Jerry surprised me with the best surprise ever on our 7th anniversary, Super Bowl Sunday, February 7th, 2010.

So what took us so long to share the news?

I’m glad you asked.

This:

That is one big blue circle through 3 states, 4 stops, 1,331 miles, 2 snow storms, 1 long Valentine’s Day weekend and visual confirmations of at least 20 smiling faces.

Totally worth it.

That leads me to my next topic of discussion: wedding planning.

Which I am now doing in full force with the help of the mister, excuse me, my future Mr.

No, wedding planning will not consume TPP but you can bet your bottom dollar that it will be mentioned from time to time.

(Hopefully, not too much to irritate you but enough to keep you wanting more!)

Any tips for a newly engaged couple? Anyone know any great vendors in Rochester, NY?! Any and all suggestions are welcome!

9 Responses to Sparkly Little Secret

  1. jackie mckeating says:

    Em, Bought you the wedding planning book I told you about. will pop in the mail this weekend. I used it and my wedding was small, brittany,Christina’s daughter, had a huge, fancy wedding and swore by it. Enjoy. Jackie

  2. Sarah says:

    YEAH!!! I already knew pre-post, but WOOHOO!!!!!!! I AM EXCITED!

  3. Miss Em says:

    Thanks, Jackie! I can’t wait to get it! 🙂

    -Emily

  4. jen says:

    Ohh! Congrats!! Wedding planning is so fun – and also so stressful!!

    My biggest suggestion is: set a date for yourself where you’ll be done working on all wedding projects/arrangements. I decided that by the Wednesday before the wedding, I was done and whatever wasn’t done by that day wouldn’t get done. This was super-rad because instead of scrambling in the days before the wedding, I was focused on spending time relaxing and hanging out with friends and family that had flown in from all over the country to be with us that weekend!

    • Miss Em says:

      What a great tip, Jen! Thanks so much!

      Step 1: Set the wedding date.
      Step 2: Set the no-more-working-on-the-wedding date.

      Ooo…is it weird that I’m looking forward to when I’m done planning and I’ve only just begun?! :p

      -Emily

  5. sartenada says:

    Now I see. Congratulations!!! The ring is awesome.

  6. […] Dates with my boyfriend happened frequently this month and one such date led to him now being my FIANCE! […]

  7. […] I’m getting married. A lot of planning goes into getting married and we’ve just confirmed a date and a place. […]

Leave a Reply

