Trial Tuesday: Method Granite Cleaner

This guy has a bunch of pluses:

  • Non-toxic = safe for your kids and pets (i.e. Crazy Eddie)
  • Smells great
  • Good price = $8.99 but if you get it at BBB like I did, not only can you use a 20% off coupon you can get a:
  • Free microfiber cloth (for a limited time)
  • The bottle is made of 100% recycled plastic and you can put it in your recyclables when you’re done, too!

I think I’m in love with Method.

But I’m not cleaning granite. Even still, the bottle says “naturally powerful to clean and shine stone surfaces” which marble is and the sales lady agreed so I bought it. I stayed skeptical, though, b/c it doesn’t say specifically marble anywhere on the bottle. (The sales lady also told me that the other cleaners – also labeled granite cleaners – would clear you out of your home they smell so bad).

The first thing I noticed was the pleasant smell. It really is nice, almost fruity but not overpoweringly. It took off the top layer of dirt really nicely (I don’t think I’ve mentioned yet that these lovely marble slabs haven’t been cleaned in at least 3 years – ick! Did I really just admit to that?!)

Since the first application only took off the top layer of dirt, I decided I needed to get down and dirty, er, clean? and just go ahead and spray the product directly onto the stone hoping it would seep into the pores and push the dirt out as I wiped with my microfiber cloth (“This is my face before Proactiv!”)

Didn’t work.

My marble thresholds look almost identical in their before and afters:

See how the second picture looks a little brighter? That’s all I got.

I’m really not impressed with Method Non-Toxic Granite Cleaner as a “My marble is really grossly dirty” cleaner but it’s probably good as your everyday stone cleaner…you know, if you’re lucky enough to have granite kitchen counters. *sigh*

PP Anyone have any tips on cleaning out the pores of my antique marble threshold? I’d love to hear them!

4 Responses to Trial Tuesday: Method Granite Cleaner

  1. Danielle says:

    I have the same marble slab for the entry to my bathroom. What I find that works is spraying Scrubbing Bubbles on the area and letting it sit for a couple minutes while I am cleaning the rest of the floor. It really picks up the dirt that seeps into the marble and looks sparkling clean after. Not sure if it is recommended to use on marble, but it works for me!

  2. Miss Em says:

    Thanks so much for the tip, Danielle! I just added Scrubbing Bubbles to my shopping list. 🙂

    -Emily

  3. Kim says:

    Ok Em I did a little research for you and what I found was Baking Powder. Yep sprinkle a little on the Marble and Polish with a damp cloth. Hurry and try it a let me know so I can try it on my Granite counter tops! (kidding I dont have granite counter tops, but I had you going didnt I?) Really try the baking powder and let us know

    Kim

  4. Miss Em says:

    Kim –

    I love you.

    More on that tomorrow.

    -Miss Em

Leave a Reply

