A Riddle

Q: How much snow would a shoveling girl shovel if a shoveling girl could shovel snow?

A: Oh, about this much…

Actually, the correct answer is 4 1/2 out of 6 times!

So Mom, the next time you’re telling your friends that your daughter is starving your future son-in-law on fish and chicken alone, be sure to add an, “Oh, by the way, she is the shoveling guru of their household.” K, thanks. 🙂 (Sidenote: I’m not a terrible shoveler as the photo may suggest, we have a seriously bumpy and uneven driveway).

Also, to all the ladies out there thinking, “Gosh, I’d rather just let the hubs do the shoveling.” I have a few things for you to think about. 1) Shoveling snow = serious work out. 2) If your main squeeze doesn’t have to shovel the snow, why, that would leave him all evening to work on some of those unfinished projects you made him start in say, I don’t know, the bathroom, the breezeway, the living room, the garage…you catch my snow drift?

PP Does anyone have any tips or tricks to make shoveling driven over snow a little easier possible? Jerry always leaves for work in a rush so I’m in a constant battle with compressed snow – ayuda me, por favor!

PPP  Don’t mind the dirty, filthy car. That’s how we role on the west side (of NY).

4 Responses to A Riddle

  1. sartenada says:

    Good morning.

    I am nearly “expert” of shoveling, because it is generally me who is taking care of shovel. Well, of course my wife is helping me when she has time. I take shoveling of snow as kind of gym! It keeps me in good fitness. When looking Your photo, I can say that You shoveled great.

    I do not know exactly which kind of snow shovels there are in use.

    I am using this kind of shovel:

    Or

    http://www.masitools.com/eng/

    Of course we have many kind of motorized shovels, but I am not using them.

    Here is one example from the cemetery of Artjärvi:

    I do not know, if this will help, but maybe some ides. No, sé si este te ayudare, pero una ideas possiblemente.

    Happy Wednesday when waiting for New Year.

    P.S. I am leaving for shoveling.

  2. Miss Em says:

    Oooo…those shovels look nice – like they cover a large area quickly – what a great tip! Thanks! The price is a bit steep for a shovel, though. I guess I can start saving my pennies now so I can get one next winter!

    Sartenada, is it easy to dump the snow once you fill the shovel and reach the edge of your driveway?

    PS I don’t speak spanish very well, I only know a few key phrases!

  3. sartenada says:

    Good morning Em.

    As You said, the key point to me is just that: “they cover a large area quickly”. I have been using them since 16 winters. The first one was bad quality and it lasted only five winters. The newer one has been lasted 11 years and it it high quality, well of course the price was higher.

    When filling that large showel it is easy to “transport” in it plenty of snow and to leave anywhere one wants. To transport snow in it easy and one can make a very high heap anywhere.

    When we have snowed here, I have to shovel normally from 45 minutes until to one hour. The most worst case lasted nearly three hours.

    When seeing Your photo it is quite similar as we have. I have a separated garage with carport. They take time when shoveling to the nearest road.

    Then I have to shovel to the garage and backyard with terrace and from the to the woodshed.

    But as I said earlier, I like to shovel and it is keeping me in good fit.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

